Soc – Survey #2 Conclusion

Response Questions: 1.

  1. Explain some of the overview of your findings from doing the survey based on the question you picked.
  2. How did your findings compare to your hypothesis?
  3. Pick 3 questions you found to be most revealing about our test subjects.
  4. Explain any patterns you found within your data.
  5. Was their any changes that you would have liked to see with the survey that you think would give us a better representation of our community?
13 thoughts on “Soc – Survey #2 Conclusion

  1. My findings from the survey were way off from my hypothesis. It was hard for me to make hypothesis on the questions because I guessed that many people wouldn’t choose yard work and home repair. In my opinion, I don’t see many women doing yard work and home repair. I see that being more of the men’s job or calling someone else to do it. Cooking, cleaning, and taking care of the family was the dominant choice people chose. The answers were so lop-sided, and I couldn’t see much trend with the data. With the question I picked, the data would have been better if the the answers to choose from where different. The answers could have been: stay at home mom (cleaning, cooking, taking care of the children, running errands, and etc.), working in a building, and having a job outside. We could have been a little more detailed about the answers for the people to choose from, and we could have discussed it a little better as a class. I think the survey that we created gave us a good representation of our community. We could just have done some small things a little differently in my opinion.

  2. I found that people who thought that men and women were equal in their driving, were usually more open to equality in other areas. I predicted this in my hypothesis, however, I also found many questions to not have any reflection on whether a person thought men or women were better drivers. I thought this may also be something that would take place when I chose this question.

    Three questions I found interesting:
    1. Most people thought that men and women were equally capable of driving. Males more often picked men to be better drivers, but also picked females. No women thought that men were better drivers than women. Most women choose the two to be equal.
    2. The majority of people who believed that driving abilities between men and women were equal thought that women should be responsible for cooking, cleaning, and taking care of the family.
    3. Individuals who thought men and women to be equal drivers, were more likely to believe that gays were capable of raising a child.

    I think to do another survey in the future, we should include more options or an ‘other’ option for people who may not agree with any of the choices available. I think this would help to get a better understanding of what people truly think about stereotypes.

  3. It seemed like a lot of people thought that the head of the household is equally shared between the male and female. Usually the people that picked male though picked male for everything else, and the people who picked equal were more balanced when it came to other questions. I had some hypotheses that were close in relation to questions but I was surprised by a majority of the questions because they were opposite of what I thought.

    I thought HOH vs. Women’s jobs was interesting because all of the people who thought the HOH should be equal thought the woman should be a stay at home mom and do all the cleaning and cooking. Another is how the rich got their money vs. HOH. The people who thought it was a equal HOH thought the rich inherited their money while the male HOH thought the rich got their money through hard work. I thought the why people commit crimes question was interesting because a lot of people thought that people commit crimes because they have mental illnesses.

  4. I was surprised that female voted for the men to be a security guard i figured that the women would have been more for women cops and security guards. My findings were way off they didn’t compare at all. What classes of wealth there were the hiring of a criminal and what women’s jobs are suppose to be.

  5. I was quite surprised that a lot of people picked that middle class people are more likely to donate to charity rather than rich people. My hypothesis was way off compared to my findings. The only pattern I seen was that a lot of people picked middle class. I wouldn’t want to change the outcome of my survey.

  6. 1. Most of the people that took the survey for my question “Why do you think people are poor?” said that most people are poor because they have a low-paying job. A lot of the 20+ people voted for that. You can definiately see the difference.

    2. Well, My hypothesis were off. I said that No-one would vote for Low-paying job and that was the most voted for. So, my hypothesis were incorrect.

    3. People that were 20+ believed that people are poor because people have low-paying jobs.

    People who believe they are in the middle class range voted mostly for people being poor because people have low-paying jobs.

    The votes showed that most people think others are poor because they have low-paying jobs. The data shows that people become rich by inheritance from their parents or others.

    4. The patterns I found were just that people that voted for low-paying jobs were always higher in all of the graphs.

    5. I wouldn’t change anything because I believe mostly what the people voted for.

  7. Females tend to think that the head of the household is equal. While men tend to think that males are the head of the household. People who are 17-19 think that males are the head of the household, while 13-14 and 20+ year olds think they are equal. People who have less money think that the head of the household is equal. People with more money think that males are the head of the household. My hypothesis’ were almost always wrong. I only had a few of them correct. The three questions I found that were the most revealing were gender, age, and guard/cop. I found that most people think that men are the head of the household. They also don’t think that the highest income parent is the head of the household. If there would’ve been more racial diversity and more wealth diversity we would’ve had better outliers of some of the questions.

  8. My question: In general, who do you think are better drivers?

    After evaluating the results taken from my charts I found some interesting discoveries. The first question I saw a dramatic difference in was “Who would you rather have as a security guard/cop?” The data collected revealed that a high percentage of those who feel men are superior drivers also feel more comfortable with a male security guard or cop. These results did not come as a shock to me. I predicted these results because when you think of someone in a authoritative role a male predominately comes to mind.

    Another question that showed interesting results was “What jobs are women more likely to be responsible for?” The data collected showed that those who believe males are better drivers were most likely to believe women are responsible for cooking, cleaning, and taking care of their family. These results once again, did not surprise me. For generations society expected women to stay at home and then to their family and household. So, it did not shock me that those who believe males are better drivers think women are responsible of their household and family.

    The last question I found interesting results to was, “How do you believe rich people get most of their money?” These results showed those who think males are better drivers also believe that the rich obtain their money through work. These results were a little shocking. I though more would vote for inheritance rather than hard work.

    I don’t think there is much you could change. I feel as though our surveys give a well representation of our community.

  9. I found that a majority people would rather have a male cop/guard or have no preference. I noticed that younger students were the ones that said they would rather have a female guard/cop, but as they got older no one picked female. One of the things I found interesting was that the people who wanted male cops thought there is white privilege. The people who had no preference, didn’t think there was white privilege. I didn’t really find any patterns, it was kind of mixed. I think what could be changed for next time is rewrite the questions to flow together better. Also check them to make sure they make sense. I don’t think asking just individuals in our school is enough to get a feeling of what our community thinks.

  10. Some of my most interesting findings were that females thought there should be white privilege then males did. An odd thing I came across was that as the age grew older it seemed like more people were for white privilege. People who believe rich people are given their money believe in white privilege and people who believe rich people work for their money do not believe in white privilege. The survey concluded that the rich normally inherit the money the have. I found that if you believe in white privilege you most likely voted for rehabilitation over punishment by a lot. Well My findings were a lot different because I had no idea that females were going to like white privilege more than males. I also did not guess that white privilege would be more for rehabilitation than punishment. I have trouble explaining many different findings in my data but when there was differences they were quite noticeable. I liked this survey and our findings but it was pretty hard to learn all the new things to do on numbers. I believe we got a good idea of what our community is like in our school from this survey.

  11. 1. I found that females most generally think that rich people inherit all of their money while men believe they get it from hard work. Also, people 20+ most generally believe that rich people inherit their money while all other age groups most generally answered with hard work.

    2. My hypothesis were not very accurate. I thought that men would say that rich people get their money from inheritance, which ended up being the total opposite. However, the age group question I was pretty accurate. I thought that 20+ people would put that they get their money from inheritance and that ended up being correct.

    3. How do you believe rich people get most of their money? vs. Age
    How do you believe rich people get most of their money? vs. Gender
    How do you believe rich people get most of their money? vs. Poor people employment

    4. I found that the votes for “how do you believe rich people get most of their money” didn’t effect their views on most other things.

    5. I thought the survey was pretty good other than some of the questions could have been answered with more than one answer.

  12. My findings were showing the the gender of the person who completed the survey in comparison with all the other survey questions. Most of the results didn’t show a large variation, however some of them had some rather interesting results. I would say that I was about 50% right with my hypothesis. The three questions that I found most interesting were the questions about the security guards, about whether a gay or lesbian can raise a child, why people commit crimes, what our prison system should focus on. I found in my data that for women were endearing or caring in their answer, whereas men seems to be a little for harsh in their answers. I don’t think there is anything that needs to be changed in the survey.

  13. 1. Explain some of the overview of your findings from doing the survey based on the question you picked.
    – I found that the most interesting charts were the gender and age ones because they showed the biggest changes for all the graphs.

    2. How did your findings compare to your hypothesis?
    – I said that people probably would go for rehab more than punishment. More girls were for rehab more than punishment, but more guys were for punishment more than rehab.

    3. Pick 3 questions you found to be most revealing about our test subjects.
    – I didn’t find any of my questions to be that revealing. Most of them showed pretty much the same things, they didn’t really have any major differences within them.

    4. Explain any patterns you found within your data.
    – Most of the charts were almost the same pattern besides the age and gender charts.

    5. Was their any changes that you would have liked to see with the survey that you think would give us a better representation of our community?
    – I didn’t think there were any major changes that i would have liked to see with the survey.

Leave a Reply

